Bittersweet

Cant believe I’ve missed Creative Writing Ink again last week! To make it up, I’m planning on making a double post for this. So there will be two short stories for this week. Here’s the first. As always, feel free to criticize! 🙂

Bittersweet

What was it that made me fall in love with you? Was it the way you laughed at my jokes, no matter how unsurprisingly unfunny they were? Was it the way you put your head on my shoulder and whispered encouraging words whenever I was down? Or was it the way you leaned forward with a shy smile, seconds before we kissed?

Whatever it was, I couldn’t remember.

But what I can remember, and will always do, is the way your face gleam as you walked down the aisle. And the way you let those tears flow as you spoke your vows and as you heard mine. I also remember the way you cursed whenever you burnt something in the kitchen, and the way you whisper good night seconds before our heads touch our pillows. They are all the little things that have made me love you every day.

And now here we are, standing a few inches away from the love sign on the sand that you’ve made with some twigs. Nothing was spoken, but everything was heard. I stare at the horizon, the giant ball of sunshine slowly fading away in the distance as if swallowed by the sea.

“What an amazing way to say goodbye.”

I blink. And blink again. It’s never easy to blink away tears, so I close my eyes and bite my lower lip. Then I feel the sweet tingle as you slowly link your fingers in mine.

“Don’t say that.” I whisper, holding your fingers tightly in my now shaking hand. “Just because it’s the truth, doesn’t mean it doesn’t hurt.”

“I know.” You bring my hand to your lips and kiss it. It’s always been your natural way of telling me that everything is going to be alright. That all the pain will go away.

But I’m supposed to be the one to do that. To kiss your pain away, to tell you that everything is going to be better when the reality may not be so.

The waves brush my feet so gently that I open my eyes and let out a heavy sigh. I look your way only to find that you’ve closed your eyes with your chin tilt up, basking the last rays of sun.

“Do me a favor.”

“Anything.”

You take a deep breath with a peaceful smile across your pale face.

“Don’t be a bitter old man after I leave.”

Despite everything, I laugh. I laugh until my whole body shakes and my lungs scream for air. Then seconds later, I feel them. The sudden overwhelming emotion, the lump in my throat, the rushing tears. They are so powerful that I have to get down on one knee and hold the handle of your wheelchair to support myself. I close my eyes with my head down because I don’t want you to see me like this. A bitter old man.

You touch my cheek and I finally look up.

After all these years, these beautiful fifty five years, you are still the most beautiful person I know.

“I love you.”

Your smile blooms even brighter, if that is even possible. “Why wouldn’t you?” You joke as you put your head on my shoulder.

I wrap you in my arms, hold you tight and close.

And for the first time since we found out about the cancer, I’m finally able to let go.

 

**********

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Novroz
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 10:41:13

    Wow….the similarity of your short and my poem is scary. Tho mine is more like a curhat because it was based on what had happen last week. The hardest day in my life.

    Reply

  2. Cath
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 17:26:08

    So sad!! 😦 Very good, but so sad!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

