Skye

Just like I promised I would, here is my second story for Creative Writing Ink to make up for missing the previous one a week before. Enjoy!

 

Skye

She was already there when I arrived, sitting on a chair and staring at the valley below. I approached as quietly as possible, but she found out anyway. Her face beamed when she noticed me. She waved and I nodded as I made my way to her.

“You’re even later than usual, Liam.” She said, seconds after I sat next to her.

“Rough day.” I mumbled. I knew she’d ask more questions about it and I was in no mood to tell her what had happened today at school, so I laid my forehead on the table and stared at my feet. I could hear her sigh, understanding what my gesture meant.

“Your phone rang twice, by the way.”

I lifted my head and stared at her, astonished. “You went into my house?”. It was more of a surprised tone than a furious one. “Did my mom saw you and invited you in or something?”

“You’re wrong.”

“About which one?”

“Both.” She brought some strands of her hair behind her ear. It was one of her little gestures that I liked because I could see her blue eyes better. “I didn’t enter your house, you know I can’t. And your mom is away. I heard the phone because I was…well, I was peeking through your window to see if you were home.”

“My window as in…my room?”

She nodded. “Oh, don’t give me that look!” She punched my arm when I raised an eyebrow at her with a sly smile. “I went to your house because I had been waiting for a while on this hill. I just wanted to make sure nothing happened to you.”

“Well, you were right. Somewhat. I got into detention.” I scratched my head in frustration. “Nothing went right today, really. Everything at school seemed to be designed to piss me off.”

She stared at me for a few seconds with her head titled to one side. “Do you…want to go home instead? You look like you could use some sleep.”

I laid back, set my feet on the table, and folded my arms behind my head as a pillow. From my point of view, the bright rays of sunshine seemed to bathe her long, wavy, brunette hair in a way that made her whole face glow. “This is my favorite part of the day. Why would I want to miss it?”

And that was the truth. I would trade my boring high school life filled with useless homework, bullies, and peer pressure with a full day spent with Skye anytime, anywhere, in heart beat. It was always magical with her.

Skye brushed my hair gently and I closed my eyes. This felt so peaceful yet intriguing at the same time, knowing who she was.

“So. How was your day, Skye?”

“Is that your way of small talks?” She asked with a small laugh.

“No. I really want to know how your day went.” My parents had stopped asking that question to each other years ago, and they were now separated. I didn’t want the same thing to happen with me and Skye. Ever.

“Well, I swam in the lake at dusk, watched the rising sun on top of a pine tree, then did some patrolling around the rose bushes with Father and Drey until noon. Some of the flowers haven’t bloomed yet, despite the season.”

“Apart from the patrolling around the rose bushes with your dad and brother, you have no idea how much I would pay for a day like that.”

“Come with me, then.”

It sounded so simple. Like asking me to come with her to the gas station or the grocery store. It sounded so normal that I snorted. “Yeah, right. Let me get my stuffs first.” I grinned and stretched my hand to mess her hair. But when I saw the way her eyes sparkled, my grin faded.

“You’re…not joking.”

She shook her head once.

“But…I can’t. You know I can’t just…go.” We both knew it was much, much more complicated than that. Was it?

“You can, actually.”

I now sat straight in my chair, staring at Skye with a bewildered look on my face. “But you’re a…you’re a fairy! Your real size is not as big as my thumb and you could only turn into a human for an hour or so. How…how am I going to fit into your life?”

Skye looked nervous now, and I wouldn’t blame her. She once told me that fairies are not supposed to even let themselves be seen by humans, let alone communicate with. So by coming here, spending time with me and talking to me, every day before the sun sets since the first time I saw her on my windowsill almost a year ago, she had violated so many unspoken rules. I could only imagine what would happen if she brought a male human to her world. A giant to her tiny world.

Unless…

A thought occurred to me. A thought that instantly made my heart thumped. It was as if I had been locked in prison for years and I’ve suddenly found a way out. It felt…exhilirating, like seconds before the rollercoaster plummeted. “Skye,” I touched her hand on the table and stared at her. “Can you…change me?”

She didn’t say a word. Instead, she stood up and stretched out her hand in front of me. It was enough of an answer for me. A weak smile was now painted across her face, as if she was saying, “Your decision, Liam.”

I stared at her palm, then looked up to see her face. With the sun in the background, she looked beautiful. Magical.

I stood up, my heart was beating fast as if it was going to explode. I looked over my shoulder, to where my house was down the hill. Pretty soon my mom would be home, popped some frozen food into the oven, and called my name for dinner before she disappeared into her bedroom/office until the very next day. And I would be taking my dinner to my room upstairs, doing nothing but browsing the internet until I fell asleep or sketching pictures of Skye and her world based on her descriptions.

I took a deep breath and nodded. I turned to Skye and linked her fingers with mine. She smiled.

I took that very first step, then another. Every step felt lighter and lighter, easier and easier. We entered the forest, leaving my world behind.

****

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wanda
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 12:55:46

    Beautiful indeed.

    Reply

  2. CBCondez
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 13:47:21

    Golly, how long did it take you to write this story? You’re right, young miss — you’re a best-selling author in the making!

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Jun 05, 2011 @ 11:42:01

      Wow! What a compliment! Thank you 🙂
      It took about an hour or so, that’s why it’s still rough and need fixing here and there. But thank you so much for your comment. This Writing Ink challenge is really fun!

      Reply

      • CBCondez
        Jun 07, 2011 @ 00:39:40

        An hour or so? It takes me about two weeks to come up with a short story — and it doesn’t even come close to this! (Am I allowed to hate you for this? Hahaha.)

        By they way, I tried to buy that Stephen King book you recommended — out of stock in the biggest bookstore chain here in Manila! =(

      • si_ulil
        Jun 07, 2011 @ 05:13:29

        Aah…so you’re in Manila? I borrowed the book from my high school English teacher, and she actually asked a friend in Australia to buy it for her 🙂
        Well, okay, maybe three hours. You make it sound like I’m a master of writing of something, while I clearly am NOT! 😀

  3. Novroz
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 13:55:08

    nice…I was half bored and thinking, hmmm romance ne.. then, out of nowhere… a fairy! nice twist and made my boredom disappeared

    Reply

  4. Cath
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 11:30:20

    oooo – I love it 😀 I was expecting there to be some sort of twist from “Skye brushed my hair…. knowing who she was.” but never in a million years thought she’d turn out to be a fairy! Love stories that make use of magic and fantasy, fab!

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Jun 05, 2011 @ 11:45:03

      Thank you, Cath! It feels great that I can still surprise people with my story twist 🙂
      I LOVE that kind of stories too! Fantasy, magic, and romance all in one. My kind of reading! 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

