What Bridget Did

Here comes the post for Creative Writing Ink! I was not in a good mood when I wrote this, so please excuse the unusual tone that you may notice in this particular short story. As always, critics and comments are always welcomed with open arms.

What Bridget Did

“You wanna know why I did this? You wanna know? It’s because you left me no choice. No, don’t give me that ‘there is always a choice’ crap, because you know it’s not true. You knew all along.

“Let’s take a look back now, shall we, Hannah? Remember how you always rolled your eyes whenever I spoke? It was like my words meant nothing to you. I bet it felt good to never listen to what anybody says and do what you want. I wouldn’t know. You never let me.

“Remember how we always fought? Of course you don’t, because we never did. Thanks to you, I always kept my thoughts to myself. My opinion was never worth paying attention to, was it? And even when I did speak up once in a blue moon, it would always turn into some one-sided arguments with the same old ending: you walking away every time I was starting to make a point, to make sense. And I was left alone with a ball of rage all stuffed and crumpled inside my thumping chest.

“I’ve always wondered what it would take to make you angry since you were always so happy, so nonchalant. So damn perfect. But now I knew why. It was because of me, wasn’t it? You loved having me around. I was so quiet, so easy to please, so…obedient. You were the master, I was the butler. And I was stupid enough to not have realized it sooner.

“But you know something, Hannah dearest? I am much, much stronger than you think. I may not have cried every time you hurt my feelings or every time you treated me like a piece of shit, but damn it, Hannah, I am SO MUCH BETTER than you would ever be! I’ve swallowed every knives you ever threw at me with your vicious mouth and that wicked smile! I’ve absorbed every bruises you ever gave me, and I’ve smiled away all my tears and heartache from your constant betrayal!

“And now you dare to tell me that I’m NOT a good friend?! After all I’ve done for you, after all that I’ve been through, you dare to tell me that our friendship was over?! All those humiliation, self-hatred and unworthiness that you’ve made me feel about myself just to keep you as my only friend, and this is all I got?! Rejection?! You can’t just push me away, Hannah! YOU CAN’T !!! YOU CAN’T JUST GET RID OF ME OUT OF YOUR LIFE !!!!!”

Bridget was now panting, gasping for air. Her chest went up and down uncontrollably and her face was boiling red. She looked away, closed her eyes, exhaled, and wiped the sweats on her forehead and neck. She didn’t even realize that she was crying until she opened her eyes again and felt her face wet and sticky with tears running down her cheeks. As if trying to put her tears back in, she looked up, stared at the ceiling, and counted to ten.

“Hhh… Hhhh….Hhh….”

All the fury, all the rage, she could feel them vaporizing slowly. A few minutes later, her breath became steadier. She turned to Hannah again. To Hannah’s bright, blue eyes, round with shock and fear. She could have sworn she saw an apology flashed in Hannah’s eyes for a split second.

But it was too late now. Way too late.

“I had nothing to offer but patience, Hannah. That had always been the one thing that’s kept me hanging for all these years. And yet you’ve managed to take that away from me, too. I have nothing now. So you can’t blame me for this. You have no rights. You have everything in your perfect little world, so let this one be my moment.”

There was silence in the room, which gave Bridget time to look back on the things she had done and what she had been through to get to this point.

Despite everything, Bridget smiled. A satisfied smile that kept growing and growing until it turned into a grin. She was free now. She knew she was. So she knelt in front of Hannah and she hugged that body tight. It was her way of saying both thank you and goodbye.

She let Hannah go, a lifeless body lying on the cold floor. Bridget didn’t care about her shoulder, which was now smeared with warm blood. It wasn’t hers, anyway. She didn’t even bother to take a second glance at the hole on Hannah’s head, still fresh. Instead, she stared at Hannah’s eyes. They were wide open, yet empty. Bridget could have closed them, but she didn’t. She knew Hannah didn’t deserve that kind of respect.

Bridget gently stroked Hannah’s right cheek, as if consoling her. “It was the right thing to do, you know.” She whispered to no one.

She stood up and walked away without taking another look back. But she suddenly froze at the door, realizing she hadn’t grabbed the smoking gun that was still lying next to Hannah’s body on the cold floor. She should throw it away, she knew she should. Her fingerprints were all over that murder weapon!

But something caught her attention. It was a Radiohead song, blaring from the gymnasium where the school’s senior prom was being held. It was Creep, her favorite one from the band. She grinned, a sudden rush of excitement coming in. She could never resist the urge to dance along that song. So she picked up the pace now, leaving the girls’ changing room behind and back to the prom scene. The sound of her chunky heels quickly faded away as she made her way back to the crowd.

*******

Behind the story:

In every movie about good versus evil that I’ve ever seen in my 20 years of life, towards the thrilling end where the villain had the hero cornered with a gun pointing at the hero’s good looking yet bruised face, the bad guy would always start monologing. How the hero has lost, how he/she would take over the world, the reason for his/her evil plot, the whole nine yards. It’s so typical! Then I wondered: what if the psycho villain did the killing first, then starts monologing to a dead body? Hence the short story was created.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wanda
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 08:51:22

    A real novel. Congratulations!

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Jun 10, 2011 @ 02:48:16

      thank you, Wanda. By the way, I left a comment on your blog, but I forgot to sign in in wordpress before that, so I went by a different name than si_ulil 🙂

      Reply

  2. jewel2
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 02:36:31

    Bridget certainly sounds like one angry chick!

    ‘I swallowed every knife you ever threw at me, with your vicious mouth,’ is a very effective line.

    You clearly express Bridget’s pent up rage! Your detailed monologue clearly delivers the emotions of your main character.

    In my mind, though I was picturing people, with a longer history than just teen years – possibly sisters? What was it that caused the friendship to end? It seemed that Bridget had served her purpose and was no longer needed, but what had her purpose been?

    Just some thoughts that crossed my mind.

    An engaging read. Well done.

    Reply

  3. si_ulil
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 03:19:51

    The funny thing is, I was actually thinking the same thing about people having a longer history. But then I realized that people with the most unstable emotions are those in their teen years. They tend to bottle up their emotions more than adults do, I think, and then one day they can just snap and do the unthinkable because they simply don’t know any better. so I decided to went with it. I went to the extreme, though, by picturing Bridget as this….dare I say psycho? She followed the urge to dance, for Pete’s sake! After what she did, she nonchalantly walked away simply because she heard her favorite song playing. Did I went too far, you think?

    What was it that caused the friendship to end? Who knows. That was the point of Bridget’s rage, I think. I pictured Hannah as this…beautiful popular girl who thought that she had all the power and her friends at her disposal. So one day she just decided to end their so-called friendship with no reason whatsoever. And Bridget couldn’t handle the rejection. Hannah was her only friend.

    “I have nothing now. So you can’t blame me for this. You have no rights. You have everything in your perfect little world, so let this one be my moment.”
    In my mind, Bridget wanted to have something to keep as…a token to remind herself of this ‘friendship’. She had nothing after the friendship ended, so she felt the need to take something back from Hannah. Something to make her feel whole again. Which is why she smiled in the end as if she was free.

    Thank you for your comment, jewel. I really appreciate it. *hug*

    Reply

  4. jewel2
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 03:42:29

    One of my favourite programmes just now is Criminal Minds. Have you seen it?

    Bridget sounds like she would fit right in on that show, with her psyochotic behaviour!

    Bridget is clearly very dellusional and perhaps Hannah isn’t at all how she has been portrayed. After all, the only insigt we get into Hannah come from the ramblings of a psychotic murderer!

    Poor Hannah!

    Monologues don’t always work for me as a means of setting the scene, but you have done a superb job!

    Congratulations!

    Reply

  5. CBCondez
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 05:00:51

    Creep by Radiohead is my absolute favorite! “You float like a feather/ in a beautiful world…”

    She’ll get caught you know… going back to the gym in that blood-stained dress. Or perhaps, she intends to get caught, to disrupt the whole party, to finally be the center of attention now that Hannah’s gone?

    “What the hell am I doing here? I don’t belong here…”

    Another great job there! =D

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Jun 10, 2011 @ 12:16:56

      The minute Bridget heard the song, she forgot about everything else, including the fact that she’s just committed a murder. She wasn’t thinking about being the center of attention or anything, she just….liked the song and wanted to dance. That’s my way of picturing Bridget’s psychotic side. How she could turn from one personality to another just like that.

      Thank you for your comment, CBCondez. Really, really appreciate it *hug*

      Reply

  6. Novroz
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 12:17:10

    great job…the best so far haha.

    I also come up with murder story, too bad it won’t be published in my blog anytime soon as my computer has once again failed me 😦
    the story will stay in my notebook for I dont know how long

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Jun 10, 2011 @ 15:05:00

      It is?? Thank you! That means a lot, coming from you! 😀
      How come our works are alike?? It’s twice already! Shall we say, “Great minds think alike”? hahahaha…

      Oh, and let me know when your story is published.

      Reply

  7. Twimagic
    Jun 19, 2011 @ 20:19:30

    please post it on twimagination.com 🙂

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Read Indonesian Short Stories Month « Polychrome Interest

Leave a Reply

