15 Questions Movie Meme

I saw this Meme in Ruth’s blog a while back and I just had to participate! It started from Defiant Success, and it’s already spreading like fire. I wanted to join sooner, but the timing just wasn’t right. So here it (finally) goes:

1. Movie you love with a passion.

Pride and Prejudice (2005). This movie is probably the reason why I fell in love with Jane Austen’s novels. Keira Knightley was stunning in this movie, and Matthew Macdafyen -though some question his portrayal of the ever-so-charming Mr.Darcy -had me at the get go. I Love this movie with a passion indeed, I even remember the lines. Especially the first proposal scene, which was so romantic and frustrating at the same time!

2. Movie you vow to never watch.

Saw. I’m just not the type of person who finds watching people get slaughtered like chicken as something entertaining. I’m a freak that way, I guess.
3. Movie that literally left you speechless.

Inception. I believe the best way to explain why I chose this movie as the answer is by the following points:

  • Cobb and Ariadne (Leo and Ellen) were sitting in a nice and quiet cafe, talking about the concept of Inception, and the next you knew… BOOM! Out of nowhere, buldings exploded, fruits and bits were flying everywhere, and Cobb didn’t even move a muscle. WTH??
  • Cobb and Ariadne were walking down the street when they turned a corner and…oh, look at that. The friggin street folded itself!!!!
  • A train, A TRAIN, appeared out of nowhere on the street!
  • The defying-gravity fight scene between Arthur (Joseph Gordon Levitt) and the ‘dream guy’. EPIC!
  • The last scene. Cobb’s totem still spinning on the table. The screen went black. What. The. *BLEEP!*

4. Movie you always recommend.

August Rush. This is a movie that any music lover will definitely love. It’s not a musical, yet it resolves around music in a way unlike any other. Freddie Highmore is a promising rising star, that I can tell you. And his chemistry with his on-screen father Jonathan Rhys Meyers, though shown briefly in the movie, was so moving and sweet!

5. Actor/actress you always watch, no matter how crappy the movie.

Collin Firth. He’s just so charming! Though I don’t always fancy the movies he’s in (The Accidental Husband and Mama Mia), I just love to hear his accent! British at its finest, I think. When he won an Oscar for King’s Speech, I was grinning from ear to ear. He deserved it, most definitely. One of the most hard working actors I’ve seen.
6. Actor/actress you don’t get the appeal for.

I have plenty, actually. But if I have to choose right here right now, I would have to say….Kellan Lutz and Annalynne McCord. I just don’t get what all the fuzz is about. I don’t even have the willing to google their picture for this post.

7. Actor/actress, living or dead, you’d love to meet.

The Harry Potter trio. I grew up watching these kids bringing the characters from one of the most influential novels I have ever read come to life every year. I am curious to see their true self in real life, with all the glitz and glamor stripped away. It would be so cool to finally meet the three of them and just…well, hang out.
8. Sexiest actor/actress you’ve seen. (Picture required!)

Johnny Depp. Come on, people. Do you need an explanation? Like, seriously ??

9. Dream cast.

Oooh….this is the toughest question by far! I’ve never participated in a movie draft fantasy, so I don’t really have a story or dream cast in mind. However, I wouldn’t complain if Johnny Depp, Chloe Moretz, Clive Owen, Kate Beckinsale, and Andrew Garfield decide to star in a drama together. Maybe a story about…. An orphaned girl (Chloe’s character) claiming to be the reincarnation of Depp’s deceased wife. Andrew Garfield plays her overly protective brother, Kate plays Depp’s younger sister, and Owen plays a dead-beat cop determined in proofing that Depp’s character is a some sort of child offender / molester. To make it worse, Depp’s character couldn’t remember anything because he was in the same accident that killed his wife and was in a coma. What do you think? I would love Nolan to direct this movie, and Sorkin to write the screenplay πŸ™‚

10. Favorite actor pairing.

I want to cheat for this particular question. I just can’t decide, so I’ve made a category of my own for each pairing.

  • Unlikely pairing: Edward Asner & Jordan Nagai (Up).

These two together: hilarious and touching at the same time. I laughed my butt off when Mr.Fredricksen (Asner) said to Russel (Nagai): “Now, we’re gonna walk to the falls quickly and quietly with no rap music or flashdancing!”. I mean, that poor man certainly knew nothing about kids, but that’s what made this movie so enjoyable!

  • Hilarious pairing: Sandra Bullock & Ryan Reynolds (The Proposal)

You can not ask for a better pairing than these two. The simple comedic gestures, the fast comebacks and wits, the hilarious face expressions, and the CHEMISTRY! God, they made comedy look effortless!

  • Quirky pairing: Johnny Depp & Helena Bonham Carter (Sweeney Todd)

These two have worked together A LOT, all thanks to Tim Burton, but I personally think this one takes the cake. Their characters were just so…dark and twisted, yet so fun and quirky! I believe the image above pretty much proofs my point.

  • Bad-ass pairing: Sandra Bullock & Keanu Reeves (Speed)

One of my favorite on-screen couple of all time! They are gorgeous!! Speed is one of those movies that I just can’t get tired of watching. The local TV channel airs it from time to time at 10 or 11 PM, and I never miss it even if I have a morning class the next day. They complimented each other so perfectly in this movie. Sandra was this tough yet sweet chick and Keanu was buff and temperamental yet romantic and chivalrous. Hhhh…. I can’t get enough of this pairing.


11. Favorite movie setting.

This is a tie between The Lord of The Rings trilogy,

and The Sound of Music.

Both countries (New Zealand and Austria) are in my must-visit-before-you-die list πŸ™‚
12. Favorite decade for movies.

Interesting. Since I’m only 20 and my movie knowledge isn’t all that, I don’t really know the answer for this one. I have to say, though, that I pretty much enjoyed the movies since the late 90’s until now.


13. Chick flick or action movie?

Action movie. This might come as a surprise for the people who know me, considering what a hopeful romantic I am :P, but action movie is more fun. No matter how crappy the story line can be, all the visual effects and fight scenes make it all worth it. You can’t count on those two aspects with chick flicks, can you?

14. Hero, villain or anti-hero?

Villain. It’s the reason why a movie has a story! The reason why a movie can be so suspense and thrilling. And when it’s done by the right actor/actress, it can steal the spotlight from even the veteran actor. Case in point: The Joker (Heath Ledger).


15. Black and white or color?

Color. Simply because I’ve never seen black and white πŸ™‚

That was fun! Can’t wait to read other people’s take on this meme! πŸ˜€

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rtm
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 19:58:42

    Hi Wulaaaaaan!! Makasih ya for the shout out πŸ˜€ Glad to hear you decided to do this meme… I LOVE your dream cast btw, I sooo would watch that… I mean Owen and Garfield in one movie?? [swoon]

    I agree with a lot on your list, too… LOVE Keanu and Sandra on Speed and yay we both choose action over chick flicks!

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Jun 17, 2011 @ 13:24:38

      jeng jeng jeeeeeeng!!!! Langsung kaget klo ternyata Ruth org Indonesia! xD
      Yes, wouldn’t it be THE perfect dream cast?? I can just picture it…. Owen and Garfield (and Depp, of course!). *sigh

      Reply

  2. Novroz
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 15:23:17

    Hahaha yg lebih kaget sy…kok Ruth tau Wulan org Indonesia???

    Interesting answer…I thought you were a chick flik kind of person as you read romance so often.

    Hehehe even though Dhila keep promoting Saw to me, I still haven’t watched it.

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Jun 19, 2011 @ 12:04:51

      I love romance, and I enjoy watching chick flicks. But if I have to choose, specially when I have to watch it at the cinema, I’d choose action any time. Besides, like I told you, the visual effects can always compensate horrible story plots when it comes to action movies. As for chick flicks, if the story is horrible, you have nowhere to go from there πŸ˜›

      Reply

  3. rtm
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 13:52:23

    He..he.. namanya si Ulil Kecil pasti dr Indo dong… he..he.. Oh I also would never watch Saw. I caught it on TV at a hotel and saw about 5 minutes of it then immediately changed the channel. Can’t believe they’ve made like 6 of those terrible movies!

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Jun 20, 2011 @ 14:30:02

      I know, right?? The fact that a lot of people enjoy watching that kind of movie is….quite disturbing, to be honest.

      Reply

      • Novroz
        Jun 20, 2011 @ 15:20:02

        @Ruth hahaha iya juga ya!!

        @Both Me Too!!! although I like bloody war/battle scene but I could never understand the fun of slasher movie. I enjoy watching movie with head blown away into pieces because of a gunshot in a war-scene…but I despise movie where someone loves to cut someone else’s body just because that person enjoys doing it…that’s just sick!!

        @Wulan hehehe I have posted my top-5,I don’t know whether you want to join in or not πŸ˜‰

  4. nadhilaaz
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 05:12:55

    ahem, I’d like to comment the SAW movies part, haha.. I guess the reason why I even started watching it was because of my brother, cause, you know, he’s kinda into these blood and gore stuffs, so..I guess I’m a bit influenced, hahaha.
    even though I also hate the fact that the movie is about people who are set in traps that tortures and kill them, I have to say the plot is so twisted it’s so interesting! it’s killing me not to watch each of the sequels to figure out the mystery.

    by the way if I might set things straight here.. it’s not a movie where “someone loves to cut someone else’s body just because that person enjoys doing it”, as I quoted Novroz, but the thing is, the criminal doesn’t do all the killing by himself, he simply set -deadly- traps where the victims have to sacrifice something in order to live. and I’m not sure if he does it because he enjoys doing it, but actually it started out as revenge. I don’t quite remember how it went on, but then the victims he chose were people who wasted their life (drug-addicts, killers, etc). so I guess somehow it’s trying to tell that being in (torturing) life and death situation kinda makes, well, forces you to be grateful for life.

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Aug 07, 2011 @ 15:06:12

      heard, acknowledged, and understood. Won’t change my mind, though. It’s kinda like….you don’t like romance flicks and I’m crazy about them πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

