Company

Here it is. My very first Creative Writing Ink post after a few weeks of MIA. Have to admit, I’m getting rusty. It took a while to come up with the story from this particular picture 😦

Anyway, enjoy. Comments and constructive criticisms are always more than welcomed.

Company

There was no one else at the pier but her, a sixty-five year old woman under a black umbrella. Despite the gloomy sea right before her eyes, a peaceful smile was painted across her wrinkled yet still beautiful face. She started to hum a song, an unknown lullaby her mother once made up to sing to her before she went to sleep. With the sound of the tame waves and the drizzle, it was as if she was singing along with nature. Even the seagulls flying overhead had started to make some noise to join in on the fun.

“I take it that you’re not afraid?”

Startled, Miranda looked to her right. A lady under a white umbrella was standing next to her and staring at the grey sky.

“You’re late.” Miranda said, ignoring the lady’s question.

“I wanted to give you more time with your family.”

Miranda couldn’t help but grin. “Never thought you’d be so generous.”

The lady with the white umbrella shrugged. “Today’s Thanksgiving, after all.”

“Well, thank you for being so considerate. I had a lovely time with my family.”

“Everyone’s okay?” The lady with the white umbrella finally looked at Miranda. “What did you tell them?”

“They’re fine. My two daughters are probably cleaning up the dishes right now, while my sons-in-law are smoking and exchanging stories at the backyard.”

“And your grandson?”

“Cillian was playing with Rocky in the living room when I left the house. He loves the dog so much.”

There was silence between them. The rain had started to pick up and the sun in the horizon was slowly dying. The seagulls were gone and the sound of the wave was getting louder.

“You know what Cillian said before I left?” Miranda said in a low voice.

“What?”

Miranda held her umbrella tighter. She hesitated to speak because she didn’t want to taste the salty air in her mouth, but she knew that if she didn’t say anything out loud, the fear would creep in. And the last thing she wanted right now was to be afraid. “He said, ‘Hurry back home, Nana! I want to show you the new song I learned today at school! You can play the piano with me!’”

A look of sympathy went across Miranda’s company’s face. An expression she shouldn’t have shown to anyone anywhere. So she looked away and stared back at the gray sky. “What did you say?”

Miranda shook her head, blinking back tears. “Nothing. I just smiled and left.”

“You gave them no explanations about what’s going to happen? No letter, no…something?”

Miranda smiled a wry smile as she looked up and let the pouring rain soaked her face. “Is there any proper explanations about death?”

A rhetorical question, and her company knew that. So she smiled and closed her umbrella. “Are you ready?”

“I have to say I’m quite surprised with your choice of color.” Again, Miranda ignored her company’s question and was now staring at the white umbrella. “For an angel of death, wouldn’t you say black fits you the most?”

“Been there, done that.”

Miranda laughed. A peaceful laugh that made her whole face glowed. Following her company’s gesture, she closed her black umbrella and welcomed the rain with open arms.

“Ask me again.”

The angel of death stared at her for a second. “Are you ready?”

Miranda took a deep breath. As she closed her eyes, the mental picture of her family eating her home-made turkey in the dining room appeared. A peaceful scenery for a peaceful ending.

“Let’s go.”

******

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CBCondez
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 05:24:55

    Rusty, did you say? Extremely humble, in my opinion. =D

    Oh, I just love your story… such a peaceful way to go… and I’m always drawn to stories when Death is presented in this kind of *friendly* form.

    Another great job!

    PS: Just one very minor thing… I think it’s “sons-in-law” rather than “son-in-laws.” 😉

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Jul 03, 2011 @ 13:30:05

      It *is* rusty! I could be pretty descriptive, but somehow it was hard for me to be just that when I made this.
      Thank you for your comment, dear. And yes, I will fix that error ASAP 🙂

      Reply

  2. Wanda
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 12:08:57

    Lovely conversation! Good job.:)

    Reply

  3. Novroz
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 13:46:16

    Hey!!! What are you doing with my boyfriend’s name there? He must be one hell of a handsome little boy 😉

    Nice story and great interpretation of the picture. Did you know Cillian once played an Angel of Death? Maybe I should show that short movie in this month’s Monthly Murphy

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Jul 04, 2011 @ 06:57:11

      I knew it! I knew the first thing you’d comment is the little kid’s name! hahaha!

      Yes, please post that video. Kinda curious to see that 🙂
      Thank you for the comment, miss! maybe from now on i’ll create characters using his name only? 😛

      Reply

      • Novroz
        Jul 04, 2011 @ 12:40:25

        Hahaha everyone knows how crazy I am with that gorgeous man 😉

        You are allowed to use his name only if the character is REALLY gorgeous hehe

  4. jewel2
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 22:07:22

    A great piece of writing. You really know how to draw the reader in. I like your personification of death. Have you read The Book Thief? Death makes quite a few appearances there too.

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Jul 04, 2011 @ 07:03:31

      Wow, thank you for an amazing comment! It really means a lot to me.
      No, I haven’t read it. Will browse through goodreads(dot)com to check it out soon. 🙂
      Again, thank you, jewel!

      Reply

  5. Trackback: Cillian Murphy as The Angel of Death « Polychrome Interest
  6. Trackback: Something Golden « Nerd in Writing

Leave a Reply

