The Crying Game, Anyone?

So here’s the thing.

Last night (Sunday), I watched Toys Story 3 on cable. It was my second time watching it, and surprise, surprise! It had sucessfully brought me to tears again! And I watched with my younger brother next to me, and I didn’t even hear a sniff! So I thought: Am I really that mushy?

Hence came the idea of writing this particular post: Top 10 boo-hoo moments from disney’s animated movies.

To be honest, I really don’t know the point I’m trying to make by creating this list. I just like the idea of combining two of my favorite things: list and Disney.

So here we go!

10. Beauty and The Beast: Beast and Belle’s final moments at the tower

Aaah…yes. It’s the romantic side of me talking. I pretty much sobbed my eyes out and was on the verge of wailing in agony when Beast closed his eyes and the last rose petal fell.  Such a girl!

9. Mulan: The epic bow.

This particular scene gave me goosebumps! I just love the way it started from the front then aaaaalll…the way to the back like an epic wave. No wonder Mushu got all teary eyed during this particular scene.

8. Tarzan: Saying goodbye to Mum

It’s always hard to say goodbye, and this particular scene brought me to an ugly cry. The moment Tarzan appeared in a tux, I could feel Kala’s pain. I watched this with my mom, so I pretty much leaned on her shoulder.

7. Lilo & Stich: Ohana

“Ohana means family, family means nobody gets left behind. Or forgotten.”

“This is my family. I found it, all on my own. Is little, and broken, but still good. Yeah. Still good.”

Aaaaw…. It makes you appreciate your family more, doesn’t it?

6. WALL-E : Demo mode

WALL-E is without a doubt, the most adorable robot I have ever seen. So when he got broken, lost his memory, and switched to demo mode near the end of the movie, I lost it. So there I was at the theatre, frustating over a rustic robot that creates cubes of trash and had a cockroach for a pet. Can you blame me?

5. Toys Story 2: When Somebody Love Me

I didn’t really like Toys Story 1. In fact, I thought it was kinda creepy, with the psycho boy and the weird toys. But my little brother talked me into watching this one with him and I’m glad he did. The atmosphere was so different than the first, and this particular scene stole the entire show. It made me want to take my favorite doll from the box in the attic and play with it. Sarah McLahlan did a superb job with the song. Just…beautiful.

4.  Up: Everything Must Go.

Saying goodbye is hard. But letting go is harder. So when Carl finally emptied his house to save Russel, I let go of my tears and let it flow. For a second I thought he was gonna at least keep the chairs, but when I saw the two chairs with the rest of his stuffs, I realized that I had some letting-go issues.

3. Up: the video montage

Best. Video.Montage.Ever!

Enough said.

2. Toys Story 3: So Long, Partner.

Come on! You didn’t expect me to write this list without mentioning this one, did ya?? Again, the closure that this movie brings brought tears to my eyes like no other. If Toys Story 2 makes me want to get my toy and play with it, Toys Story 3 makes me want to cry my eyes out over it! I mean, just looking at the picture makes me want to have an ugly baby cry again! You can never hate your childhood toys. And I’m glad Pixar managed to showed me that.

And now, here we are. The number one boo-hoo moment of Disney’s animated picture.

Drum roll, please…..

1. Lion King: The death of Mufasa

It was the death that pretty much scarred my childhood. One of the earliest movies that made me cry. Everything in this particular scene was heart-wrenching: Simba’s cry for help, his trying to wake Mufasa up by biting his ear, and finally lying under his paw as if in his hug. A huge thumbs up for Jonathan T. Thomas for voicing the young Simba. Probably his best work yet!

So there you have it. My top 10 list. Care to share yours?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Novroz
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 21:38:41

    Nice list 🙂
    Can’t share mine because I am not a disney girl…I am more into Ghibli than Disney. I can make my top10 sad scene of ghibli animation …but ot sure if you ever watched the greatness of Ghibli animation.

    Reply

  2. Novroz
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 12:41:08

    Here’s one of the best animation I have ever laid my eyes upon http://t.co/xjW8d6y (on scheduled)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

