Murphy’s Dream

And we’re back to Creative Ink Writing! Yay!

I have to be honest, for this particular piece, I have NO idea what I’m doing -__-”

It was already Sunday when I wrote this, and I was desperate enough to just wrote whatever came to mind. Since this is a serious case of writer’s block, don’t pull back and give me the criticisms that I’m already expecting…

 

 

Murphy’s Dream

 

It feels like I’m in a dream. A dream that I have been having every night for almost a year now. But this time, it is worse. Thousand times worse.

 

Still out of breath, I stare at the horrific scene in perfect, stunned still. People running in frantic on the streets like ants exposed to rain, houses and buildings destroyed like dominos, trees shaking and crackling like twigs in a giant fireplace. All happening under the bleeding sky above.

 

And the screams. Oh, the screams. Human screams, animal screams. The scream for help, the scream in agony, the dying scream. They send chills down my hurting spine.

 

I close my eyes, count to ten, and open them again. But everything stays the same. The same apocalypse. “No…No, this is just another dream.” I whisper to no one. “Come on, Murphy, wake up.” I grab the strands of my hair with both hands and pull them with all the power left in me. “WAKE! UP!”

 

My scalp hurts, my eyes watering, my knuckles bleeding. But despite all the pain, under the roaring flame, everything stays the same.

 

“This isn’t what I wanted.”

 

It isn’t?

 

“No!” I shake my head. My whole body’s trembling like a dying leaf.

 

This isn’t what you pictured in your dream?

 

“STOP IT! IT WAS A DREAM !!!” I scream until my throat feels like tearing apart.

 

It was always only a dream. A dream that has been the main reason why I love lying in bed or couch at home instead of spending my lazy, awful days at school doing the same useless activities. A dream where I got to destroy this boring, old city to pieces along with the lame people in it.

 

It was a dream that losers haunted by bullies would undoubtedly have, some time in their lives. It was a dream that I had been wishing would come true.

 

Until now.

 

Until everything is all up in flame.

 

“Undo it.” I whisper.

 

Why?

 

“Just…please.” My voice is breaking. “Turn everything back around.”

 

How? I’m only a voice in your head, you know.

 

I stare at my palms, both covered with ashes. My feet are shaking and the next thing I know, I’m sitting on the cold dead grass, crying.

 

You have no one to thank but yourself, Murphy. You’ve dreamt it, You’ve planned it, and now, you’ve done it.

 

The voice in my head laughs. A calm laugh that sends my heart slipping to the ground.

 

*****

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Novroz
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 16:24:32

    Nice. You’ve seen the prange color as flame. I thought the same.

    Hehehe as I have said in twitter, I forgot about July 18 😉 love the pic…it could be a fantasy but not sure I want to make a short.

    Reply

  2. Wanda
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 16:48:01

    Tragic and impressive….

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Alone and Hope « Polychrome Interest
  4. Neni
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 07:47:46

    interesting… 🙂 salam kenal

    Reply

  5. jewel2
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 18:58:01

    Hi si_ulil

    Welcome back!

    As you know, I look forward to the twist in your tales and you didn’t disappoint! Another skilful introduction which describes the scene well, before you build up to the plot!

    We have a saying…’Be careful what you wish for, as it might come true!’

    Your story reminds me of that!

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Jul 27, 2011 @ 14:40:06

      Aaaw…thank you! The fact that you welcomed me back and looked forward to my tales really mean the world to me.
      For someone who wants to be an author, this kind of support is all I need, so I really thank you, Jewel.

      And yes, I was actually inspired by that saying. So it feels good to know that my story reminded you of that. That means I did well. Yay! 🙂

      Reply

  6. Theresa
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 18:01:39

    Well I liked how your story turned out, even though you said you had no idea what you were doing! 😀 I think some stories can be good even when written spontaneously, this is an example of that 🙂

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Jul 28, 2011 @ 14:42:22

      Wow, thank you! Seriously, I had no idea what I was writing. Thank God it turned out not as horrible as I thought it’d be. Hopefully I will be more prepared next time. Thank you for the wonderful comment, Theresa. I really appreciate it 🙂

      Reply

  7. Tilly Bud
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 10:38:18

    This is an interesting one!

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Aug 01, 2011 @ 07:18:37

      Wow. Thank you for liking this post, Tilly Bud. Hopefully there’s gonna be more like-button-worthy short stories in here in the future 🙂

      Reply

  8. Trackback: After The End « Nerd in Writing

Leave a Reply

