At The End of Dusk

I’m baaaack!!!!

Oh, how I’ve missed Creative Writing Ink! A while back, I decided to reduce my blogging time for two reasons: to concentrate on my studies, since the new semester has arrived and I was –and still am –focusing on a personal project. But I couldn’t help but taking a peek to check out the latest pictures, which led to something bigger. Still can’t believe I ended up writing two short stories! Since the deadline is September 30th (which is today in my country), I practically had to wring my brain out to come up with a story line for each picture. As always, comments and constructive criticms are expected and requested 🙂

It’s good to be back, people !!!

At The End of Dusk

The sky is gray and disturbing. Between the suspicious clouds, crows are singing somewhere above, as if trying to contribute in the already gloomy dusk. Though far and seemingly small, the factory down below is still spitting out dense smoke with its machines roaring nonstop.

For me, this is every day life. Both the awful atmosphere and dishearten view are the reason why I still exist. And I’m fine with it. That is, until today.

I wrap my arms around my feet and rest my head on my knees. There’s a pounding in my chest, which is weird since my heart has stopped beating for almost a year now. Images start to play in the darkness, in the back of my eyelids. Images of everyone I left behind. Images of him.

Despite all the noise that surrounds me, silence is deafening.

I sense movement near so I look up. Before I know it, I am staring at Elric. With those black wings outstretched, he looks majestic. From his expression, though, I know he is everything but. “So. You found out, huh?” he says as his wings melt inside his body. Now, he looks just as ordinary as Jim or Adam.

“You knew?!” I say, astonished and outraged at the same time.

“Why do you think I came here?” He sits next to me and lean on the tomb. “I have to make sure you do the job.”

It all sounds so…technical and heartless, the way Elric says it. Though I won’t admit it out loud, I won’t deny that it has actually started to feel exactly like that. Like this is just a normal, routine job we both started ten months ago.

But it’s not. Especially now.

I open my mouth, but no words come out. Instead, shake my head. “I can’t do this. Not this time.” I finally say.

“Raven, you know we have to…”

“It’s just this once, Elric. I’m sure they will understand…”

“No, they won’t. We made a deal with them, remember?”

“No, you made the deal.” I remark in disdain.

Elric stares at me with those mysterious, deep blue eyes that puzzle me every time. “I had to make a choice.” He says. But somehow, somewhere from his tone of voice, I sense his regrets. “You know I did it for us, Raven. So we can still be together.”

I drown my face in my folded arms. The last thing I need right now is a reminder of how we got to this situation. How we were both reckless and stupid, how we would have ended up stuck in the eternal life of nothingness that lay ahead if it weren’t for the deal Elric made to take other people’s lives as angels of death. It was a choice: having our lives cut dead short like a broken TV where everything just stops and turns pitch black or taking everyone else’s to maintain a small sense of living, existing.

And I’m starting to regret everything altogether.

Elric stroke my hair and brushes the strand of purple hair behind my ear when I look up. Staring into his eyes, my defense starts to crumble. “Why him, Elric? And why me?” My voice falters. Elric throws his right arm around me and gently shakes my shoulders. Both he and I know there is no answer to my question. Nobody ever knows the real reason behind everything, especially something like this.

“You don’t have much time left, Raven. Dusk is ending soon. They will be asking for his life any time now.”

“It’s easy for you to say!” Choking, I hit Elric in the chest. But it’s a weak blow, since I’m using every ounce of energy I have left to contain my brimming tears. “He’s my brother, Elric. My own ten-year old brother. I can’t take his life away. I just…can’t.”

“Everything will be okay. I promise.” Elric whispers.

But then again, that was what he said when he brandished a couple of beers in his car, almost a year ago.

***

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kroten
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 12:42:03

    So…they died and turned into angels of death?

    Fun read but clearly not your strongest

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Oct 05, 2011 @ 12:57:07

      hahahaha! Somehow I grinned when I read your comment.
      But yeah, they did. And I’m telling you, I’m *this* close to deleting this post because I am not happy with this piece. Like, at all. I had the line in my head, but I got further and further from the original plan and in the end I crashed. Believe me, you’re not the only one disappointed. Meh!

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Lost and Found « Nerd in Writing
  3. CBCondez
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 11:25:41

    Why are you disappointed? It’s not bad at all! And considering you wrote two stories in one go, it’s quite an accomplishment. Don’t be too hard on yourself! 🙂

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Oct 06, 2011 @ 13:07:32

      Thank you for the comment.

      Yes, I tend to be hard on myself so very often in life, especially when it comes to something I’m really passionate about. And yes, frankly, I *am* disappointed with this writing because it didn’t go the way I planned it. I guess I’m a perfectionist that way.

      But I really appreciate your comment. It’s always wonderful to know there are people out there who supports me. 🙂

      Reply

  4. Novroz
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 15:21:13

    I agree with CB, dont be too hard…although it’s not your strongest but it isnt your worst either 😉

    I am not sure with my next story too…but I will still post it this weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

