Lost and Found

As mentioned in the previous post, I am posting two stories for Creative Writing Ink this week to make up for lost time. Also, as always, comments and criticism are welcomed with grateful, open arms.

So, without further ado, I give you…

Lost and Found

My breath is short, my body hurts. My lungs feel like exploding and my face feels colder than ice. This is what you get after running miles and miles nonstop.

Everywhere I turn, I see nothing but pitch black. I jerk in panic at every single movement sensed and every sound heard. My heart is pounding. Afraid, defenseless. This is what you get when you’re separated from your friends in the woods.

I was seconds away from calling out their names when my stomach cries out in a protest. It grumbles like no other, an unfriendly combination of total hunger and utter panic. Okay, stay calm!, orders the voice in my head. I spin around to check my surroundings and finally sit on the cold, damp ground.

As I calm myself down, slowly but surely, everything starts to create shapes. The trees, the twigs, the rocks. My vision gets better the more I concentrate. There’s a lake not too far ahead, I notice. I look up and find the stupid moon between the stars, staring at me as if waiting for some kind of meltdown. A few seconds ago, I would’ve been sure the moon would get its wish, but now that I’ve just realized something, my fear is quickly forgotten. What I just realized is this: despite the puffs of clouds emitted from my short breaths, I don’t feel cold at all. In fact, I feel my blood is boiling. A rush of hot liquid that creates a sense of alertness in every inch of my awkward body. Whether this is normal or not, I don’t know. And I have no one to turn to for guidance, reassurance, instructions, anything.

Please find me soon, the voice in my brain whimpers. I want to tilt my head up and call their names, but the logic reasoning within me tells me not to. What if there’s someone else in the woods, someone who would love to see me dead? Even worse, what if there’s a wild animal or beast lurking nearby? I can’t even imagine what would happen then!

Once again, my stomach chants in protest. I could have sworn I had dinner before I went to the woods with the others, but somehow I feel hungrier that I’ve ever been. It is as if I have to constantly eat.

Worried, I look around. There is nothing edible here. But then again, I’m just a rookie. I don’t know what’s edible or not out here in the woods. I need help. I need a company. I need everything, anything.

Please find me soon.

Seconds feel like minutes. Minutes feel like hours. The next thing I know, I am lying on my side with both eyes closed. Just like the girls had promised earlier tonight, I find all my senses ten times stronger in the dark. I can hear every single whisper of the wind, every single twigs falling and hitting the ground, every single breath the trees exhale. Somehow I have found my rhythm. I can feel my pounding heart getting calmer and calmer by the second.

Find me.

Slowly, I open my eyes. How long I have fallen asleep, I don’t know. One thing is for sure, the moon has somehow disappeared.

I get up and look around. Somewhere in the distant, I can hear birds chirping and the river rippling. Although I see nothing, I can sense activities are happening all around. I feel awkward again, especially having lost my recently-found night rhythm.

My heart sinks the moment I realize that they have not found me yet. Even worse, my stomach growls. There goes my plan to sleep the hunger away. But now that I’m hearing the chirping birds, I have enough courage to walk a little deeper into the woods, to where the river is.

Dawn is approaching when I finally reach the edge of the river. The beautiful view takes my breath away. Despite my current condition and situation, I just feel the need to stand in the spot and bask in the glorious morning. The golden ray brushes the surface of the water in a movement as gracious as mermaids in water, then moves shyly to greet the tree trunks.

For the first time in my life, I’m in love with dawn.

Something snaps behind me. I jump in alert, heart pounding with fear and hope. There’s movement between the trees.

And there he is. Grey and white.

I bolt to him, to those green eyes sparkling with relief. Between his teeth, a dead rabbit is dangling. He drops the carcass on the ground, right in front of me. He touches my neck with his bloody nostrils. Though I can not hear him, I can feel his apology for not keeping me close when we were hunting.

A few moments later, two more appears. One brown and one black. The three at them stare at the dead rabbit on the ground, then to me. They want me to eat.

Callum bends his head down, sniffing the carcass. With just one glance from him, I know he wants me to mimic him. He is teaching me, guiding me, reassuring me. Amber and Agness stand inches from me, encouraging me to take a bite.

Being this close, I can smell the blood on Callum’s nostrils.

I close my eyes and sink my teeth into the rabbit whose fur is as white as mine.

***

Note: this is a continuation from the short story: Silence

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dhitzunako
    Oct 01, 2011 @ 14:26:03

    At first, reading the ending, I thought that this would lead to a thriller story. At the second part, ouu… I was wrong. ^^ I keep wondering why you only reveal the character identity in the last line. We might have different perspective, but the last line made me thought about mmm… thing begins with letter “c”? Haha, I guess I’m wrong.The pacing of the story is neat and keep me curious. thank you for sharing. 🙂

    Reply

  2. dhitzunako
    Oct 01, 2011 @ 14:29:04

    haha, sorry for my mistake: not “reading the ending” but “reading the story”.

    Reply

  3. si_ulil
    Oct 01, 2011 @ 15:58:52

    Thanks for the comment, dhitz (I hope it’s okay to call you that, hehe..). This is actually a continuation from my previous post titled Silence. So I left the characters’ names til the very end on purpose 🙂

    And as for the “c” word, to be perfectly honest, I have no idea what you’re talking about, hehehe..

    Thank you for taking the time to read and leave a comment, dhitz. Really reaaally appreciate it.

    Reply

    • dhitzunako
      Oct 01, 2011 @ 16:14:42

      Oh, I see. Based on your description, I just knew that the others are wolves, but I was still not sure if the main character is also one of them, that is why the c word comes to my mind: cannibalism.
      😀

      Reply

  4. jayadhara
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 01:46:48

    I love your story !! I really enjoyed it 🙂

    Reply

  5. Wanda
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 16:40:17

    What a story! Great job.

    Reply

  6. si_ulil
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 15:43:14

    Thank you so much, Jayadhara and Wanda!! What a nice thing to say… :’)

    Reply

  7. Novroz
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 09:32:01

    Hahaha…you tricked me!! I was expecting thriller and just about to say ‘how come we wrote the same thing on same picture’ but I was wrong.

    Your so story is so unexpected,I mean that picture with a story of lost dog/wolf. Great imagination, I should say 😉

    This week’s picture is also interesting 🙂 *evil smile*

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Oct 05, 2011 @ 12:11:18

      I tricked you?? Horray for that! I’m not sure if I’ve read your post yet, but will do it soon. haven’t had the chance to browse the internet much since school started. And thank you for the flattering comment! I’m sure I would say the same thing after reading yours 🙂

      It’s amazing how people can come up with stories based on a single picture, isn’t it? And I haven’t seen the latest pic yet, so don’t temp me!

      Reply

  8. CBCondez
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 11:43:01

    Hey, Wulan, great continuation to “Silence.” Now, you’ve got me craving for the next chapter! 😉

    Oh, and your werewolves can see color — normal wolves can’t! 🙂

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Oct 06, 2011 @ 13:10:35

      Hahaha, I never planned on writing a continuation. As you know, it all depends on the picture posted. And as for the werewolves, I have no idea that wolves cant see color! This is a clear sign of how much I still need to learn.

      Thanks for telling me 🙂
      And thank you for reading both stories. Really, REALLY appreciate it.
      Oh, and THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH for subscribing! I seriously wanna hug you 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

