Characters Came to Life

About a week ago –or probably two, I can’t really recall –Novroz gave me a link for her latest Top 5 post. As always, the theme intrigued me. Granted, it took a while for me to finally get to it, but I finally finished my list. So here it is. My Top 5 favorite book characters in movies:

5. Prof. Dumbledore -Richard Harris

Albus Dumbledore

 

To me, he is the perfect Dumbledore. The wise voice, the gentle and fatherly smile, and the secret look behind those moon-framed glasses, everything was flawless. When Richard Harries died, I was heartbroken. And even though Michael Gambon replaced him as Dumbledore since the 3rd movie, I’ve never pictured anyone but Harris as Dumbledore when I re-read my Harry Potter books.

 

 

4. Silas -Paul Bettany

Silas

 

Just like Novroz, I was in awe when I first saw Bettany’s performance in The Da Vinci Code. He completely embodied Silas. In fact, he did even more than bringing the interesting to life. His performance in this movie is brilliant, it was almost uncomfortable to watch. He was that good!

 

 

 

 

3. Peter Pan -Jeremy Sumpter

Wendy Darling and Peter Pan

First of all, a quick shoutout for the movie, Peter Pan. I believe this is one of the best family movies of ALL time! The movie was a wholesome experience, and it interpreted the novel perfectly. Too bad it was released in the same time as Harry Potter and The Lord of The Rings, so the two mega franchise overpowered it.

Okay, on to Sumpter. To me, he is Peter Pan. That sneaky and adorable smile, the boyish charm, that quirky laugh, everything he did in the movie was SO Peter Pan. And I loved the way he portrayed the lovable character’s emotional conflicts concerning Wendy! God, I would watch the movie over and over again and never get bored.

I wonder, whatever happened to Sumpter? Anyone?

note: the reason why I chose the picture with rachel hurd-wood on it is because the girl needs a shoutout. she did a marvelous job portraying Wendy. but in the end, peter won the title.

 

2. Mr.Darcy -Matthew Macfadyen

Fitzwilliam Darcy

Okay, let me guide you through this, because it’s going to be quite complicated. I was first introduced with Mr.Darcy not by Jane Austen, but by a certain movie. Indeed, it was Bridget Jones’ Diary. That movie made me fall in love both with Collin Firth and the name ‘Darcy’. So one day, when I saw a novel titled “Me and Mr Darcy” by Alexandra Potter, I bought it without any hesitation. The romantic comedy novel dealt with the heroine’s fascination and obsession of Jane Austen’s Mr.Darcy, who’s obviously nothing but a fictional character. So when she one day stepped into a parallel universe by accident and met the real Mr.Darcy –like, the legitimate, man in spandex, horseback riding, gentleman Darcy- she went completely gaga over him. And I did too. I was so intrigued by this Mr.Darcy! I got more and more crazy and decided to get my hands on the real deal, as in Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. And I swallowed every single page of the novel in a swoon, like any hopeless romantics would. So when I heard that there was going to be a movie adaptation in 2006, I went ballistic. I bought the DVD and watched it alone,in my room.

And there he was, Matthew Macfadyen, as the PERFECT Mr.Darcy. His built, his voice, his arrogant charm, everything was Fitzwilliam Darcy! He portrayed Darcy’s emotional conflicts and passion so brilliantly, especially during the proposal scene(s)! Since then, every time I read a novel about Mr.Darcy (such as Amanda Grange’s Mr.Darcy’s Diary), I always picture Macfadyen in mind. I could no longer see him without seeing Darcy. I don’t know if that’s a good thing or not for an actor, but it’s certainly a good thing for me!

1. Prof. Snape -Alan Rickman

Severus Snape

Genius. An absolute genius.

I have nothing but long yet deserving praises for this unbelievably talented actor. Every little thing he does on screen is Snape. The little smirk, the bitter look, that raspy voice, the nose, the hair, every single thing! I’ve seen some behind the scene clips of Harry Potter, and Rickman was anything but the character! He smiled, he joked around with the casts and crews, yet when the cameras role, he just…clicked on the switch and turn into Snape in a blink of an eye! That’s nothing sort of brilliant!

And I am not the only one on this matter. Even JK Rowling herself thinks that Rickman portrayed Severus Snape’s character with perfection. Rumor has it that she was so happy with his performance that she ended up telling him the ending of Harry Potter (or at least the secret about Snape) waaaaay before the 7th novel was published! So Rickman, being the genius actor that he is, had to keep it a secret to every one and pretend like he knew nothing of his character’s story development! I mean, how amazing is that??

Alan Rickman, I salute you.

 

 

So there you have it. My Top 5 Favorite book characters came to life. Care to share your version? 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Novroz
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 00:34:18

    First of all…Snape would be in my honorable mention. He is indeed the best character in Harry Potter. Albus was also good but not as great as Rickman as Snape. He is amazing. I almost put him in my list too.

    Hahaha that Peter Pan looks so much like Valentino Rossi, everytime I saw it on TV, I can’t stop smilling seeing how similar they are. Rossi probably look like him when he was younger.

    Horay for Silas!!! it’s amazing how he outshined the other famous actors in that movie, Tom Hanks and Ian McKellen.

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Oct 17, 2011 @ 06:59:29

      How come you always fall behind when it comes to the honorable mentions?? I was so shocked you didn’t mention either of them!
      And as for Sumpter and Rossi comparison, I have no comment whatsoever 😛
      And as for Silas, indeed, he totally stole the show! btw, I couldn’t find that picture of Silas anywhere, so I went with this one instead..

      Reply

  2. sundryandco
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 21:21:09

    These are genuinely great choices. They really are characters that stand out as strong and unique. As for the actors – Richard Harris and Alan Rickman – What a talented pair!

    And Mr Darcy – Ooo, I love period dramas!

    Do you have a Top 5 period drama choice? Maybe that deserves its own post 😉 Have you watched North & South (Elizabeth Gaskell)? http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0417349/

    I will be buying Season 2 of Downton Abbey when it is released. I prefer to wait and not watch it on the television, so that when the DVD is released, I can watch it all through in a few days during the Winter, while drinking my cup of tea in front of a warm fire 😀 I have no patience to wait for an episode from one week to the next!

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Nov 30, 2011 @ 16:34:15

      Thank you for your comment! I was quite surprised because this is an old post 🙂
      Yes, Richard Harris was the true Dumbledore in my opinion, with no disrespect to Michael Gambon. He did alright, but Harris’ portrayal was just so spot on. And Alan Rickman? He rendered me speechless.

      Yes, I LOVE period dramas. But I’ve only been enchanted by the genre recently, so i don’t think I’ve seen enough to make a list. But what an excellent notion! Do you have a Top 5 period drama choice?

      I haven’t watched North & South, but I’ve heard great reviews about it since a few months ago! It’s a bit difficult to find the DVD here. I’m still searching. Keep your fingers crossed for me! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

