Movie Blog-A-Thon: Houdini’s Magic Ticket

A few days ago I found a really cool blog-a-thon in rtm‘s blog, and I decided to join because it seems so fun. Since it’s going to be a long post, I’ve decided to skip the introduction and rules. However, you can see them here.

So here we go!

What character would you most like to be sat next to on a plane?

The first thought that came to mind was: It has to be someone extremely silly, goofy, and funny without being a tiny bit annoying. I mean, can you imagine sitting for hours next to someone grumpy or sappy? Yeah, neither can I. And just like that, my thought went straight to a scene in Date Night, where Claire Foster is trying to create background stories for costumers in the restaurant. I wouldn’t mind playing that game on the plane! Plus, she’s the kind of person who’d just speak up her witty opinion in a straight face, which make it more hilarious! Case in point: “Why is it so bright out here? It’s supposed to be dark and seedy. Give a 40 year old stripper-slash-mom a break.”

What character would you most want to enjoy a passionate romance with?

This is a tough one, simply because I’m a sucker for romantic movies, so I have tons of candidates for this particular pick. The nominees include Noah (The Notebook), Jack Dawson (Titanic), and Robbie Turner (Atonement), to name a few. In the end, I would be lying to myself if I didn’t pick Mr.Darcy, the hall-of-fame prince charming of romance. Here’s a guy who has loved a woman most ardently despite the fact that she has wounded his pride by refusing his proposal. Here’s a guy who is willing to find a man he despise for the sake of his true love’s happiness. And here’s man who walked all the way to his beloved by foot, at dawn, and proposed with:

“If your feelings are still what they were last April, tell me so at once. My affections and wishes have not changed, but one word from you will silence me forever. If, however, your feelings have changed, I will have to tell you: you have bewitched me, body and soul, and I love, I love, I love you. I never wish to be parted from you from this day on.”

If that’s not passionate, I don’t know what is!

If you were a cop who would you want as your partner?

Ha! This is an easy one! Without a doubt, I’m going to pick Gracie Hart any time, any day! Fun, fearless, and fierce! There would never be a boring day at the office πŸ™‚

What animated feature would you love to walk around in?

I have been obsessed with Neverland ever since I saw the Disney’s version of Peter Pan. I am -and I think will always be -a kid at heart, so the thought of being in a place where you won’t grow up is everything! Where else would you be able to roam around the woods with the lost boys in the morning and fight pirates at night?

What movie gadget would you love to try out (or steal)?

I forgot the name of it, but I really would love to use that memory-eraser thingy they have in Men in Black. Just imagine: when you’re PO’d at someone, you can just say the things you wanna say in his/her face in a brutal way that’s almost cruel, then make them forget everything you’ve just said by a click of a button. That’s genius!

What film’s plot would you alter and how would you do it?

With all my heart and soul, I HATE Source Code’s ending. Yes, I may sound harsh, but I am just utterly and completely disappointed with the ending! The guy (Mr.what’s-his-name) should have died and the movie should have ended when the time stood still at the exact moment when the two main characters kissed! That would have been a billion times more emotional! But nooo…. they chose to put the guy in a different body for the rest of his life instead, as if that would have been any better! I think we should move on before I rant any further..

What one film would you most want to be transported into, simply to be a part of that world?

I adore every part, corner, and inch of the musical world that is The Sound of Music. What I would give to roam freely and belt a song or two on top of the breathtaking hill, take a plunge into the lake behind the Von Trapp’s house, or simply perform a whimsical puppet show in the guest room. Aaaah…what a tough life they have.

The world I would NOT want to be transported into:

Any world where zombies run around freely is a no-no for me. If I have to pick, the last place I want to be transported into would be that city/area/region in I Am Legend. Just imagine being alone in that place of horror!

*********

So there you go! What would you do if you have such a golden ticket? πŸ™‚

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: movieblog » Movie Blog-A-Thon: Houdini's Magic Ticket Β« Nerd in Writing
  2. Trackback: Blogathon: Houdini’s Magic Ticket » Top 10 Films – Film Lists, Reviews, News & Opinion
  3. Nostra
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 08:56:35

    Interesting choices. That gadget from Men in Black is one I didn’t think of, but this would be very helpful sometimes πŸ˜‰

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Oct 30, 2011 @ 11:40:31

      thank you, Nostra. It took a while for me to figure out the perfect gadget,then it just popped in my mind. Indeed, it would be REALLY helpful! πŸ˜€

      Reply

  4. Dan
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 09:23:05

    Great blogathon post! Love the use of the “memory eraser thingy” from Men In Black! A lot of people went for time travel devices so it is nice to see a change.

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Oct 30, 2011 @ 11:42:13

      Hi, Dan! Thank you for the comment. I never wanted a time travel device because I just thought it would be useless. besides, the memory eraser thingy is way more convenient, don’t you think? πŸ™‚

      Reply

  5. Kame
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 15:53:35

    I will comment all your answers as pay back hehehe

    #1 I don’t know who she is…so no comment here

    #2 Ow wow…you are so predictable!!! You are a sucker for romantic men πŸ˜‰

    #3 you need to find other image dear πŸ˜‰
    I honestly forgot about her…she would be fun indeed tho her unusual laugh would be terribly annoying.

    #4 That’s a nice picture of Peter pan…very lovely. Lucky you didn’t choose the same one as mine πŸ˜‰

    #5 Ah!!! that gadget would be perfect for my *ehem* boss. great choice.

    #6 & #7 no comment as I haven’t seen both.

    Hahaha zombies are really scary…but I won’t mind going to Shaun’s world.He will protect me from the zombies πŸ˜‰

    Reply

    • Novroz
      Oct 28, 2011 @ 16:04:34

      Ups!!! my kame forgot to log out πŸ˜‰

      Reply

    • si_ulil
      Oct 30, 2011 @ 11:44:28

      #2. of course I am! Haven’t you known me long enough now to be saying a surprised ‘Oh wow’ when reading my answer?? πŸ˜›
      #3. Yeah, I will when I have enough internet connection to do so. And her laugh is NOT annoying! It’s…quirky! hahaha…
      And for the last comment, yeah…I really don’t have anything to say about that and him..

      Thanks for giving an awesome commentary!

      Reply

  6. rtm
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 21:36:45

    Thanks for the shout out, Wulan. Hmmm, I actually don’t like Tina Fey so I wouldn’t want to sit next to her anywhere… Steve Carrell would’ve been fun though. Mr. Darcy!! Oh yes… great choice! I was considering him too, and I was thinking of Matthew Macfadyen instead of Colin Firth, I actually prefer the latest version by Joe Wright.

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Oct 30, 2011 @ 11:48:35

      I SO agree with you when it comes to Matthew Macfadyen! Granted, I may be biased because Joe Wright’s version is the only version of Pride and Prejudice I’ve ever seen, but I think it did the novel justice. I think Matthew did an amazing job portraying Mr.Darcy. And that scene where he proposed the second time at dawn was just the most beautiful scene from the whole movie! I even did a blog about Macfadyen’s portrayal here: https://ulilkecil.wordpress.com/2011/10/14/characters-came-to-life/
      maybe you’d like to join in on the fun? πŸ™‚

      Reply

  7. Rodney Twelftree
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 00:15:51

    I picked Pinocchio as my animated feature to visit, but you’ve chosen my second pick, Peter Pan. Awesome – that would indeed be fun to walk around in…. especially if I could fly.

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Oct 30, 2011 @ 11:50:33

      Disney’s Pinocchio left a scar in my childhood simply because there were some creepy stuffs going on in that movie. If I had watched it a wee bit older, I might have chosen it too πŸ˜‰
      I think every single person who have watched and read Peter Pan want to fly and explore Never Land. If only…

      Reply

  8. Aziza
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 11:55:49

    Loved the Men in Black device!Why didn’t I thought of that!Great choices!

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Oct 30, 2011 @ 11:57:36

      everyone who has read this post said the same thing about the MIB device. I guess this means I would be the only one who will be using it πŸ™‚
      Thank you for visiting and commenting on my blog, Aziza!

      Reply

  9. Trackback: Houdini Magic Ticket Awards » Top 10 Films – Film Lists, Reviews, News & Opinion
  10. Dan
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 22:51:57

    Hi Wulan…we gave you an award for one of your answers in our Houdini Magic Ticket Awards! πŸ™‚

    Post is here: http://www.top10films.co.uk/archives/9459

    Reply

  11. Trackback: The Lammys are here…2012 movie blogger awards » Top 10 Films – Film Lists, Reviews, News & Opinion

Leave a Reply

