Eve

Yes, I’m back in Creative Writing Ink, people! It really does feel awful to have abandoned this magnificent activity for almost a month and I’m glad I have now returned. I realized I have missed out a lot and this is my second attempt to catch up for this month’s writing prompt. As always, comments and constructive criticisms are more than welcomed 🙂

 

Eve

 

It was a normal October night and everything was bright.

Okay, scratch that. It is a lame October night filled with nothing but sad-looking people under the gloomy weather. It has started to drizzle since ten minutes ago and doesn’t look like it will cease any time soon. On my left, people has started to take shelter inside cafes and bars while some others choose to brace the rain with or without their umbrellas. I am the latter. I was too excited to get out of the house that I forgot to grab anything other than my wallet and cellphone. How can I not be when it’s my birthday?!

The big six and twenty. Time sure flies. Feels only yesterday that I was an awkward lanky boy, swimming and playing by the lake near my parents’ house. Not that I’m no longer awkward, lanky, and any less of a ginger-head. Come to think of it, I haven’t actually changed as much as I have always thought, appearance-wise. But God, I surely miss that lake. So many childhood memories there. One in particular…. my memories of Eve.

***

October 24th

I had just turned seven years old when we first met. My cousin and I were having the time of our lives, basking on the summer sun and swimming until we thought we’d grown gills. We swung from a rope and dived into the fresh lake, laughing and monkeying around as if we owned the world. I was trying to convince Paul to climb one of the giant rocks and do a double flip when I saw a girl sitting all alone under a tree. She was wearing a white summer dress with little sunflowers pattern. Her strands of golden hair were tied in a pair of braids and hidden under a wide straw hat. Despite the heating sun, she was holding a lantern. She was staring at us with eyes gleaming with interest.

“Who do you think that is?” I whispered to Paul as I gestured my head to the tree.

Paul, who was trying to get water out of his left ear, stared blankly at me. “Who?”

“That girl under the tree.”

Paul’s eyebrows creased. “No one’s there, Alan.”

The minute he said so, the little girl waved at me. Curious to find out more about her, I told Paul that I was going to take a break and walked back to dry land. When I approached, she brandished her arm to help me get out of the water. But I didn’t touch her. Instead, I sat on a giant tree root. “Who are you?” I asked. She smiled and sat next to me. Her tiny little feet dangling inches above water, unlike mine.

“I’m Eve.” She answered. She hung the lantern on one of the branches and brandished her hand again. “Nice to meet you, Alan.”

I didn’t even bother to ask how she knew my name. I was too busy staring at her lantern, which turned out to be light. So light, in fact, that the branches didn’t even bend. It was as if the lantern wasn’t even hanging there. And as I squinted, I noticed her legs. They were as transparent as the water.

“You’re nice, Alan.” She said with a friendly smile. “We should be friends, you and I.”

I stared at her brandished hand. I should have been terrified, but I wasn’t. I shook her hand. It was solid and real, but cold as ice.

Since then, she always appeared every time I went for a swim. We sat on the tree root and talked for hours. Paul, on the other hand, got sick a few hours after I met her for the first time. I didn’t want to ask if Eve had caused him to feel nauseous because I didn’t want to hurt her feelings. I actually enjoyed her company. We ended up spending every afternoon talking and playing by the lake ever since, all the way til middle school.

***

“Watch it, will ya!” An old man yells when I accidentally step on a huge puddle and splash him by the ankles.

“Sorry! So sorry!” I try to pull a handkerchief out of my back pocket, but the old man grunts and waves his hand, telling me to walk away. That’s when I realize that he is actually selling balloons on the street. I can’t help but stare at them. Some red and some green, blue here and yellow there. Before I can stop myself, I start to smile.

***

“Happy birthday!”

“Whoa..” I stared bewildered at the seven colorful balloons she was brandishing, all tied into one single line. “How did you get these?” I asked as I took them from her.

November 21st

“I have my ways.” She answered with a coy smile.

“Thank you, Eve. Though I’m pretty sure people are going to think I’m crazy when they see me standing all alone on the edge of Grand Canyon while holding balloons.” I added with a grin. She laughed so loud, she snorted. Her face turned red in embarrassment, but I actually liked her distinctive laugh. No one heard her, anyway. Not because we were away from the tourist crowds, but because she was….well, not real. At least for everyone else.

I sat on the rocks and gestured for her to sit next to me. I secretly thanked my parents for taking me to Grand Canyon for my 15th birthday present. Now they were too busy taking pictures somewhere while I enjoyed the fantastic view, undisturbed.

“Can I ask you something?” I said after a few minutes of silence.

“You already did, but go ahead.” Eve didn’t take her eyes off of the horizon. I, on the other hand, stared at the balloons she gave me.

“Do you think it’s weird that I can still see you? I mean, don’t imaginary friends usually last until a kid turned, what, nine or something?”

Eve didn’t say a word. I could feel her fidgeting for a second, but she stood her ground and didn’t let anything pass her face. I nudged her rib gently, asking for a reply. But she just smiled and looked me in the eyes. “I said you could ask, but I didn’t say I would answer.”

She winked at me playfully. At that exact moment, the wind suddenly blew, causing some of her golden locks to dance around her face. It framed her beautifully.

***

That was the last time I saw her. She disappeared without a trace the very next day and I have never seen her since. Maybe she thought it was time for her to go, especially after all the things I said about imaginary friends. But I honestly didn’t want her to leave. As weird as it may sound, I was actually falling for her.

“There’s the birthday boy!”

Someone suddenly throws his arm around my neck. I don’t have to look over my shoulder to know who it is. “You trying to choke the birthday boy,Paul?” I say as I try to wriggle my body out of his reach.

“Well, come on then! Can’t keep the beers waiting! Especially on a crappy weather like this!” Paul looks up disgustingly at the drizzling rain, then back to me. The bar in where we’re going to celebrate is only a few metres away.

I stare at the man selling balloons for a minute longer. “You go ahead. I gotta buy something first.” I finally says. Paul shrugs and walks ahead. I run back to the old man with a grin on my face, hoping he would forgive me with the oh-so-charming smile.

“What do you want?” He grunts.

“One yellow balloon, please.” I say as I pull my wallet out of my pocket.

 

And right there, at that exact moment, I see her.

 

Her hair is dark instead of golden. Her height is 5’7” instead of 5’3”. But she hasn’t changed. Still the same cheekbones, the same thin lips, the same pair of twinkling eyes. It’s still her.

 

Between the unknown crowd, under a grey umbrella, there she is.

 

Staring back at me, real and present, there is Eve.

 

November 14th

********************************************

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wanda
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 18:19:11

    Lovely story 🙂

    Reply

  2. Aswin Jose
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 17:25:57

    Love the way you move from one lovely description to the other…

    Reply

  3. Novroz
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 22:56:51

    HUAAA…I hate commenting with mobile, wrote long comment then the network suddenly failed…but I could read long post in computer…ah dilema

    Reply

  4. Novroz
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 23:01:18

    I’ll try rewriting it and hope the network wont failed.

    You also combined 3, not 2 not 4…exactly 3 pictures to one story. Hmm this too scary. Have we spent too much time together to stast thinking this similar?

    I thought Eve was a supernatural being, was she turned into human at the end? your last paragraphs keeps me wondering

    Reply

  5. danniehill
    Nov 25, 2011 @ 07:14:37

    Very nice story, Wulan. It caught me up with thoughts of my youth and brought to mind meeting my soulmate. Although I never spoke to her as a young boy I did know she was waiting for me.

    Thank you for bringing those memories back.

    Reply

  6. CBCondez
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 05:44:06

    An engaging love story (without the mushy bits!) from a true romantic!

    I love the way you weave romance and fantasy together, just like “Skye” and “One Day in Autumn”, and your characters are always alive and real — never two-dimensional and flat. That’s why I remember your stories so vividly! This one will be tucked away in my mental library, for sure. =D

    Reply

  7. si_ulil
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 16:39:12

    Hi everyone!

    Slow internet connection and piling assignments have kept me away from replying, so I truly apologize 😦

    Thank you so very much for those lovely comments. They really lift my spirit. I truly appreciate them all. Huge hugs for everyone!!! >____<

    Reply

Leave a Reply

