Top 5 Favorite Movies of 2011

It’s been a while since I’ve made a list of my favorite things. And what better theme to choose now than the list of my favorite 2011 movies, right? 🙂

 

I’ve been thinking about creating this special list since Christmas, but never really had time to make one until a few days ago. Have to be honest, Novroz and Ruth are the two people who really encouraged me to post this because they have created a fabulous 2011 fav.movies. And now, it’s my turn!

 

First, here are the complete list of movies I’ve watched in 2011.

 

  1. The Green Hornet
  2. Source Code
  3. Red Riding Hood
  4. I Am Number Four
  5. Beastly
  6. The King’s Speech
  7. Waiting for Forever
  8. Gnomeo & Juliet
  9. Rango
  10. Tangled
  11. X Men First Class
  12. Thor
  13. Pirates of The Carribean 4
  14. Kung Fu Panda 2
  15. Just Go With It
  16. Super 8
  17. No Strings Attached
  18. Paul
  19. Captain America: The First Avenger
  20. The Three Musketeers
  21. Crazy Stupid Love
  22. Real Steel
  23. The Adventures of Tintin
  24. The Art of Getting By
  25. Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part 2
  26. Transformers 3: Dark of The Moon
  27. The Hangover 2
  28. Rise of The Planet of The Apes
  29. Mission Possible: Ghost Protocol
  30. Sherlock Holmes: Game of Shadows

Granted, they are not in any particular orders because I watched most of them on DVD, so I can’t make a list based on their release dates 🙂 And now here it is!

 

My Top 5 Favorite Movies of 2011

 

#5. The Hangover Part II

I was obsessed with the first movie, so it was obvious how excited I was when I heard of a sequel. Had to wait for a long time until the movie was finally released in theaters, but the wait was totally worth it! All the surprises, the funny twists,  and that adorable monkey! Golly! Without a doubt one of the most hilarious movies of the year!

 

#4. Rise of The Planet of The Apes

I watched this movie as a part of my back-to-back movie marathon with my mom, with the first movie being The Hangover Part II :). This movie is a pleasant surprise! Have to admit, I was really against the idea of this particular prequel. I even cringed when I saw the trailer. But the buzz surrounding this movie was so huge, I couldn’t help getting curious. And boy oh boy, what a movie experience it was! Andy Serkis definitely deserves an oscar nod. That chilling scene where Caesar finally said No alone was oscar-worthy!

 

#3. Crazy, Stupid Love

The minute I saw the casts for this movie, I immediately put it in my must-watch list. I mean, Steve Carell joined forces with my guy-crush Ryan Gosling and my girl-crush Emma Stone?? That’s the dream, right there! 😛 The movie itself is funny, touching, and sweet. And seriously, the twist near the end was so unexpected, I literally gawped for the whole five minutes!

 

#2. X Men: First Class

I can’t express how much I’m obsessed with this movie! James McAvoy was drool-able at its finest! Michael Fassbender was one sexy bad-ass (pardon my French), and the bromance between Professor X and Magneto was unbelievably real! I love every little thing about this movie: the score, the brilliant plot, the perfect casting, the whole Cold-War atmosphere, the cameos of Wolverine and (grown up) Mystique, the whole enchilada! And can we please talk about that awesome scene where X and Magneto tried to gather all the young mutants?? Such a brilliant job from the editing department, that is!

 

#1. Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part 2

The final movie. The end of an era. The very end of a story that pretty much made my childhood.

I went to Singapore with my younger brother just so we could watch this movie on IMAX because we worried we wouldn’t be able to watch it in Jakarta, considering the situation at the time. And for me personally, it was totally worth it. Granted, the ending in Hogwart’s Express didn’t really ‘hit’ me as hard as I thought it would be, but over all, it was a movie experience a loyal Potter fan would never forget. I couldn’t help but shed a tear when the light went on and the ending credit started to roll because it really meant I had to say goodbye. This movie is such a sweet and grand way to part with one of the most significant part of your childhood. And for that reason alone, it deserves a number one spot.

**************

So there you have it, my Top 5 Favorite Movies of 2011. Some honorable mentions are:

– The Green Hornet (I personally think this movie is underrated. Seth Rogan was kinda hot in this movie :P)

– Thor

– Captain America: The First Avenger (Now I reaaally can’t wait to watch The Avengers in 2012!)

– Disney’s Tangled a.k.a Rapunzel (the little girl in me screamed with delight 🙂 )

– Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol (a nice surprise to find this an extremely enjoyable movie, considering how disappointing the third one was)

– Real Steel (an overall fun movie experience, the kind where you just can’t help but cheer for the protagonist)

 

There are some movies released in 2011 that I didn’t get to watch. Here are the quick list of those I REALLY wish I had seen:

 

1. Drive
2. Happy Feet 2
3. Puss in Boots
4. Arthur Christmas
5. Rio
6. Unknown
7. Johnny English Reborn
8. Jane Eyre
9. Limitless
10. Hanna
11. Your Highness
12. Bad teacher
13. Horrible Bosses
14. Cowboys & Aliens
15. 30 Minutes or Less
16. One Day
17. Like Crazy
18. 50/50
19. What’s your number

 

Hopefully next year, I’ll get the chance to see even MORE movies.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Novroz
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 16:03:26

    hahahaha….we are so different in movie taste!!! 😉
    Our only similarity is The Rise of The Planet of The Apes…yayyy for that \(^_^)/

    If my list was only of movies released in 2011, Super 8 will be in it…but my list was a bit different. Btw, the one on Ruth’s blog was Ted’s list not hers 😉

    Reply

  2. Nenes
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 03:39:18

    You should’ve been watched Limitless. It’s so damn cool! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

