Top 10 Movie Rain Scenes

Who doesn’t love rain? Whether in real life or movies, rain makes everything ten times more dramatic, wouldn’t you agree?  That’s why I became so excited when I read this awesome post on Flixchatter. This brilliant Wet Blog-a-thon was created by Andrew, complete with the cute banner.  I know I’m late in participating, but it’s always better late than never, right? 😛

Interestingly enough, the rain is pouring now as I’m writing this post. So, without further ado, I give you…

TOP 10 FAVOURITE MOVIE RAIN SCENES

#10. Pride and Prejudice (2005)

This particular scene is the reason why I fell  head over heels with the movie. Everything was so beautifully crafted, from the moment Elizabeth ran across the bridge until she was left alone to her thoughts after the big argument with Mr.Darcy. It was a dazzling scene that left me breathless.

 

#9. Jurrasic Park

I remember quivering inside my blanket as the thudding sound of Tyrannosaurus Rex’s footsteps filled the air. The pure look of terror on the children faces when they tried to stay so still as they were face to face with the gigantic creature. Good Lord! I would’ve died there and then!

 

#.8 The Matrix Revolutions

As I saw Neo and Agent Smith standing face to face, surrounded by the menacing Smiths, I realized that this was it. The final battle between The Chosen One and The Rouge Agent. And just when you thought you’d take a moment to take a deep breath, Bam!

 

#7. Thor

I was pleasantly surprised with how much I like this movie. And the scene where Thor reunited with his Mjolnir for the first time since he’s banished brought chills down my spine! Unfortunately I couldn’t find that particular scene, but I got the second best thing: the trailer. I’m pretty sure you know which rain scene I was talking about 😉

 

#6. Crazy, Stupid Love

Rain+ Ryan Gosling’s fantastic abs + adorable Emma Stone = perfect! And with that Dirty Dancing lift, too! Legen-wait-for-it-Dary!

 

#5. Beauty and The Beast

I remember crying my eyes out during the final scene, where Beast was dying and Belle was begging for him to stay alive. It was so heart-wrenching, I almost wailed in agony! Sorry I couldn’t find the shorter video for this 🙂

 

#4. Inception

When Cobb and the others fell asleep on the plane,  I was preparing myself for some slow, yet suspenseful dream. But then, BAM! From the very beginning of the movie, everyone was already soaking wet! And without a moment to process anything, everything suddenly became completely wrong. Oh, and a friggin TRAIN appeared out of nowhere! Mind. Blown.

 

#3. Step Up 2: The Streets

I can’t express how much I LOVE this scene! The final dance gave me never-ending goosebumps! I’m so glad they brought Adam G. Sevani back on Step Up 3D, because that is one talented curly-haired kid!

 

#2. Lord of The Rings: The Two Tower

This is pretty much on EVERYONE’S list, isn’t it? And why wouldn’t it be? This is a battle scene unlike anything I’ve ever seen. I thought the scenes would be all blurry and messy with the heavy rain, but Jackson managed to pull it off so effortlessly. Job well done, sir.

 

#1. The Lion King

My favourite Disney movie of all time takes the first spot on this list for this…this…scene that is nothing sort of brilliant! Disney did an amazing job in depicting a start of a new life by using the rain to wash away the Wildebeest skull (which, i think, is a symbol of Simba’s guilt for his father’s death) and put out the raging fire. And I can’t express how much I LOVE the score! Without a doubt one of the best movie scores I’ve ever heard. Hans Zimmer, sir. You are pure genius!

 

There you go. My Top 10 favourite rain scenes. I’d love to read people’s version of the list, especially Novroz and Vampibots 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ruth
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 19:55:33

    Oooh, great list!! I was gonna include the the scene where Thor reunited with his Mjolnir but was frustrated that he couldn’t lift it, too bad I couldn’t find the exact scene on YouTube. That’s a good one indeed. I also included the P&P one from the post from last year, it’s lovely 🙂

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      May 01, 2012 @ 11:55:13

      Thank you, Ruth. Yeah, trying to find that scene is probably the most frustrating thing I have to do on the internet. That Jurassic Park scene is also a difficult one. But the hardest one to find was (surprisingly) Beauty and The Beast, because a lot of people (and I mean A FRIGGIN LOT!) uploaded the dubbed version of the scene. Man, it was ridiculous!

      Reply

  2. sundryandco
    Jun 10, 2012 @ 22:51:08

    Love these choices!
    I’m watching the boxset of Lark Rise to Candleford (I only watched a few episodes when it was on the television a few years ago). Towards the end of season 1, there’s a great rain scene, reminiscent of the Pride and Prejudice one! It seems as though Sense and Sensibilty and every other period drama have a rain scene in them! I suppose it was one method for the authors to create a slightly more dramatic scene 🙂

    Reply

    • si_ulil
      Jun 11, 2012 @ 15:06:29

      Oooh… another period drama series I have to keep my eyes on. Thanks for that! I’ve recently just discovered North and South thanks to a series of Youtube videos, and I LOVED it!!! I always have a thing for period dramas. They’re so wonderfully crafted and utterly romantic without ever being vulgar.

      Reply

  3. Tuan Rahman
    Jun 17, 2012 @ 07:52:04

    Awesome! the battle scene of Jack Sparrow vs Davy Jones in the strorm in Pirates of Carribean 3 would be a nice addition too. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

