Movie Blogathon: Small Roles…Big Performances

A few days ago, Ruth from Flixchatter created this interesting Blogathon. It really sparked my interest because of how challenging it was. The idea is to” shine a spotlight on the unsung heroes, the overlooked performers who add so much richness and entertainment value to the film no matter how brief their appearance is, but yet they don’t get the credit they so deserve.”

 

 

The general rules:

  • Highlight a performance from an actor [classics or contemporary] in a supporting role or cameo, it can be as short as five-minutes, as long as that particular scene is memorable and/or makes an impression on you.
  • I’d ask that you choose a performance that was NOT nominated for major awards and as much as possible choose an actor that isn’t generally well-known, the more obscure the better!
  • You could choose to do a write-up of ONE or several (up to three to keep things from being too long) performances. It’s up to you how long you’d like it to be, I don’t want to restrict you if you are passionate about a particular scene, but I think 150 – 400 words is ideal. Write why you love that particular scene and how it’s touched you, be as specific as you’d like to be and you could even elaborate on the actor or share some trivia about the movie in relation to that performance.
  • I recommend using clips/photos/quotes as you see fit. I LOVE what Sati does with her weekly scene spotlight, but feel free to add your own spin to it :D
  • You can read the full blogathon guidelines here.

 

Alrighty then! Let’s get right to it!

#3. Emily Blunt (The Devil Wears Prada)

I’ve never read the book, but I have a feeling Blunt’s portrayal of the snarky Emily made the author proud. My favorite scene of hers would be near the end, where she found out that Anne Hathaway’s character (Andy) has decided to give her all the free clothes from Paris. You could see the genuine shock on her face, then she got all teary-eyed and turned to Andy’s replacement to say: “You have some very large shoes to fill. I hope you know that.” LOVE her!

#2. John Krasinski (It’s Complicated)

I really didn’t intend to put the married couple on the list on purpose. It was pure coincidence, folks! 🙂
John’s character, Harley, is the epitome of perfect fiance/future son-in-law. And I love watching him went along the crazy-dysfunctional family ride. I’ve never watched The Office, so this is where I discovered John’s ability in subtle comedy. My favorite Harley moment would be when he tried to stay cool as Jane (Streep) went all passive-aggresive on Jake (Baldwin) in the family kitchen after she got stood up. I laughed hysterically when Harley took the knife from Jane’s hand.

 
#1. Thomas Brodie-Sangster

Love Actually is one of my favorite holiday movies of all time, and this adorable, excessively romantic kid is my number one reason why. Let’s face it. The cute puppy love is the reason for many people to glue their eyes on the screen for 135 minutes. He is such a scene-stealer! My favorite scene?

“Okay, Dad. Let’s do it. Let’s go get the shit kicked out of us by love.”

Nuff said.

 

So who are YOUR scene-stealers, folks? 🙂

P.S. Thank you for the awesome blogathon, Ruth!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ruth
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 16:19:06

    Yay, I’m glad you decided to take part Wulan! The only one I haven’t seen is ‘It’s Complicated’ but I totally agree with the other two. I LOVE Blunt in ‘Prada,’ such a scene stealer! And Sangster is absolutely adorable in Love, Actually. I love that scene at Heathrow, that’s actually one of my fave scenes set in London 😀

    Reply

    • wulanastari
      Oct 03, 2012 @ 17:37:34

      Oh, you definitely have to rent/buy It’s Complicated, Ruth! It’s a great girls-night flick! I can’t believe you haven’t seen it! As for Blunt, she pretty much steals the spotlight from Anne Hathaway. Emily (the character) is the type of person who is so bad, it’s good. Kinda like that Mark character in Ugly Betty.
      And Sangster. Aaah…Sangster, Sangster. I seriously believe he’s going to be a huge star one day, along with Freddie Highmore. I have high hopes for these two adorable kids.

      Reply

  2. danniehill
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 01:49:27

    Love Actually is one of my favorites for the same reason you have. Thomas is a show stealer

    Reply

  3. momto3feistykids
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 16:54:48

    “Let’s go get the shit kicked out of us by love.” I really like Love Actually, and this young actor was a great pick. I haven’t seen the other two films, although I do like Emily Blunt. Great post … by the way, I love your blog title. 🙂

    Reply

    • wulanastari
      Oct 10, 2012 @ 15:59:02

      Thank you, “mom”. Seems like Love Actually is everyone’s favorite. For a good (and adorable) reason, too. As for my blog name, it just came to me out of the blue 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

